Skip to content

Solar Bears announce 2019-20 Season-Opening Roster

ORLANDO, Fla. – The Orlando Solar Bears have announced their Season-Opening Roster ahead of their eighth season of play in the ECHL. Orlando opens the 2019-20 season, presented by XYMOPrint, against the South Carolina Stingrays on Saturday, Oct. 12 at 7 p.m. at Amway Center. Fans can CLICK HERE to purchase tickets to Saturday’s game.

ECHL teams can carry a maximum of 20 players on the active roster, no more than 18 of whom may be skaters, at any one time. For the first 30 days of the regular season, teams can carry a maximum of 21 players on the active roster, no more than 19 of whom may be skaters, at any one time.

Teams are permitted to carry up to two (2) players at a time on the Reserve List, while an unlimited number of players can be placed on the 14-day Injured Reserve.

In order for the Solar Bears to ensure compliancy with ECHL roster rules, Orlando has made the following adjustments to the team’s roster:

  • Forward Jake Jackson has been released from his tryout agreement and has been signed to a Standard Player Contract
  • Defenseman Austin McEneny has been traded to the Allen Americans in exchange for future considerations
  • Forward Jackson Playfair has been released


Orlando Solar Bears 2019-20 Season-Opening Roster


Jake Jackson [R]
Ivan Kosorenkov [AHL-SJ]
Tristin Langan [R, AHL-SJ]
Chris LeBlanc
Ryan Lohin [R, NHL-TB]
Jake Marchment
Colby McAuley
Pierre-Luc Mercier
Trevor Olson
Brent Pedersen
Marcus Vela [AHL-SJ]


Taylor Doherty [V]
Cody Donaghey
Alexander Kuqali
Kevin Lohan
Mike Monfredo [V]
Matthew Spencer [NHL-TB]


Zachary Fucale [AHL-SYR]
Spencer Martin [NHL-TB]
Zach Sawchenko [AHL-SJ]


Dylan Fitze (F)
Alexey Lipanov (F) [R, NHL-TB]

Injured Reserve:

Tyler Bird (F)
Jimmy Lodge (F)


[V] = Veteran (Has at least 260 regular season games of professional experience in qualifying leagues as of the start of the 2019-20 season)
[R] = Rookie
[NHL-TB] = NHL Tampa Bay Lightning contract
[AHL-SYR]  = AHL Syracuse Crunch contract
[AHL-SJ] = AHL San Jose Barracuda contract

The Solar Bears will continue to hold on-ice practice sessions this week at the RDV Sportsplex Ice Den at 10 a.m. each morning. All practice sessions are open to the public. Flash photography and unauthorized video recording of Orlando Solar Bears practice sessions is not permitted. The RDV Sportsplex Ice Den is located at 8701 Maitland Summit Blvd., Orlando, FL 32810.

Members of the media who wish to arrange interview with Solar Bears players, coaches and team personnel should contact Solar Bears director of communications and broadcasting Jesse Liebman at

Opening Night is Oct. 12:

The Orlando Solar Bears open their eighth season of ECHL hockey against the South Carolina Stingrays on Saturday, Oct. 12 at 7 p.m. Opening Night tickets are on sale via the Amway Center box office and Ticketmaster  – CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE TICKETS TO OPENING NIGHT. Single-game tickets for all Solar Bears home games are now on sale at the Amway Center box office and Ticketmaster. CLICK HERE to download the calendar for the 2019-20 season.

Pre-Order New Jerseys:

The Orlando Solar Bears will wear new jerseys for the 2019-20 season. An extremely limited quantity of replica jerseys are available for pre-order online, with adult sizes available for $149.95 and youth sizes available for $109.95. Fans can visit to place a pre-order today.

2019-20 Season Ticket Memberships on Sale Now:

Upgrade to Solar Status and become a Season Ticket Member today. Season ticket memberships for the 2019-20 season are now on sale and start as little as $270 – CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION.

2019-20 Season Presented by XYMOPrint:

The 2019-20 Orlando Solar Bears season is presented by XYMOPrint, Orlando’s digital printing experts. As a special offer, fans who call XYMOPrint at (888) 223-9390 from now until June 15, 2021 and reference the Solar Bears will receive 15% off their first order and a free Orlando Solar Bears poster!

About the Orlando Solar Bears:

The Orlando Solar Bears are the proud affiliate of the NHL’s Tampa Bay Lightning and members of the ECHL, the premier “AA” hockey league in North America. In seven seasons of operation, the team has qualified for the Kelly Cup Playoffs five times. The Solar Bears are owned and operated by the Orlando Magic and the DeVos Family, and play at Amway Center, the 2012 Street and Smith’s Sports Business Journal Sports Facility of the Year.

Officially licensed Orlando Solar Bears replica team jerseys, apparel, and headwear can be purchased at