Orlando to Honor 2001 Turner Cup Championship Team

Orlando, FL - The Orlando Solar Bears announced further details of the 2001 Turner Cup Championship Banner unveiling scheduled for this Saturday, February 2, before the Solar Bears play host to the Trenton Titans at 7:00 p.m.

The pregame ceremony will begin promptly at 7:00 p.m. and fans are encouraged to be in their seats early. A familiar voice from 2001, Scott McKenzie, will emcee the event and Orlando Mayor Buddy Dyer will be in attendance and will make a special presentation during the pregame ceremony. Turner Cup Champs

The Turner Cup will be in the building, giving fans a chance to see the long-awaited trophy back in Orlando. Representatives from the Hockey Hall of Fame will be escorting the Cup and fans will have an opportunity to take pictures with the Turner Cup on the concourse level.

Orlando will wear special throwback jerseys reminiscent of the 2001 Turner Cup Championship team during the game. Fans will have a chance to bid on the jerseys throughout the game by going to The MeiGray Group booth on the concourse level (behind Section 113). Players will hand deliver their respective jerseys to the auction winners immediately after the game.

The Orlando Solar Bears won the Turner Cup on May 26, 2001, defeating the Chicago Wolves 5-1 in Game 5 of a best of seven series.  The International Hockey League (IHL) folded on June 4, 2001, and the Solar Bears never had an opportunity to unveil their Championship Banner in front of their hometown fans.

The first 3,000 fans in attendance will take home mini championship banners, courtesy of Ember.

Members of the 2001 Turner Cup team that are currently coaching in professional hockey include:  Todd Richards (Columbus Blue Jackets), Ben Simon (Rockford IceHogs), Jarrod Skalde (Cincinnati Cyclones), Brad Tapper (Florida Everblades), and Peter Horachek (Nashville Predators).

Members of the 2001 Turner Cup team that are currently still playing professional hockey include:  Bryan Adams (EHC Munchen - DEL), Hugo Boisvert (Dresden Ice Lions - Germany 2), Wade Brookbank (Rockford IceHogs - AHL), Brett Clark (Oklahoma City Barons  AHL), Jon Coleman (HC Eppon-Appiano - Italy), Darcy Hordichuk (Edmonton Oilers - NHL), Curtis Murphy (Linz EHC - Austria), Brian Pothier (Geneve Servette - Swiss-A), and Mike Weaver (Florida Panthers - NHL).

To get tickets, visit, call the Solar Bears at 407-951-8200, or go to

The Orlando Solar Bears, the ECHL affiliate of the NHL's Minnesota Wild and AHL's Houston Aeros, play all of their home games at the 2012 Street and Smith's Sports Business Journal Sports Facility of the Year, the Amway Center.

Individual tickets for all regular season home games are on sale beginning as low as $15. To purchase your tickets, please visit or the Amway Center Box Office.

Follow the Solar Bears at, Facebook, and Twitter (@OrlandoHockey) for all the latest news and updates.

Season ticket plans are available now. Pro-rated full-season and half season ticket plans range in price from $225-$800 per season ticket (includes facility fee), reflecting a savings of up to 42% off box office pricing. For more information call the Solar Bears at 407-951-8200 to speak to a Ticket Sales Account Manager.

Group tickets are a great way to entertain employees, co-workers, clients, friends and family. For more information on discounted group tickets and a list of group benefits, call 407-951-8200 or click here.

Officially licensed Orlando Solar Bears replica team jerseys, apparel, and headwear can be purchased online at: